Pick-up lines.

What is a pick-up line?

pick-up line or chat-up line is a conversation opener with the intent of engaging an unfamiliar person for romance, or dating. Overt and sometimes humorous displays of romantic interest, pick-up lines advertise the wit of their speakers to their target listeners.

Off late, I’ve been a real Twitterholic. I spend most of my times tweeting my brain out and rambling away, checking up on my fav celebs and also all these funny pages with the not-always-funny jokes.

I’ve come across this! A twitter page for pick-up lines. Link included so if you’re on Twitter, you can check this page out.

Now. This made me wonder, do pick-up lines actually work? If I was at a local bar, and a guy was to walk up to me and use a line, like, for example, 

“Hey, did it hurt when you fell from the sky? Cause you must be an angel”,  or,

 “Smoking is hazardous to health, and baby…you’re killing me”, I wouldn’t fall for that, no matter how many tequila shots I had!

There are some really stupid pick-up lines, and there are some witty ones as well, but I know for sure that they wouldn’t work on me.

Have you ever had an experience with pick up lines? Did you use them, or were they used on you? How did it go?

Image

 

XOXO

sillyme.

7 thoughts on “Pick-up lines.

  1. I loved these lines. I can say, in all honesty. that I never successfully managed a pick up line in my life. My worst dialogue was as follows. Me “What’s your name”
    Girl “Mary”
    Me ” How long have you had that name.

    Girl walks off. I was amused. and not drunk I hasten to add, but I was certainly unsuccessful

  2. Tatsat says:

    I was pretty much into flirting half-a-decade back and it was the time when brains mattered more than the biceps. Don’t know how it works not actually 😉

    As for the pick up lines, my fav was, ” You seem bored”- not a pick up line if you ask me. The girl followed it with an ” entertain me ” if she was a Westerner, or a weird look if she was Indian. Pick up lines never worked on Indians as they already have a preconceived notion. Don’t you think so ?

    Though, I understand you are too young to answer that… 🙂

    • sillymexox0 says:

      Haha I think this is a period of big muscles and small brains. I wonder why, I very much prefer a non well built person who can keep a good conversation running to a Johny Bravo. haha

      As with Indians, I’m sad to say that our culture, though rich in heritage and traditions, is very narrow-minded. We live by the ideals our ancestors have bestowed upon us hundreds of years ago.

      I think with this time and age, we have to develop and open our minds to new things.

      Yes, I might be too young, to understand, maybe, but this is my opinion.

      • Tatsat says:

        Well your opinions are as valuable as they can be 🙂 Invaluable that is.

        I do not know how things work in today’s scenario as most of my friends are either settled or on the verge of being so. But I do think that a lot of things retain their relevance over ages. Of course, only a few would appreciate that…

  3. eva626 says:

    loool. so funny. i loved the anti pick up lines haha!!!

Leave a Reply

